Sunday, April 14, 2024
HomeautoName changes, legends and more from the history of the NASCAR Cup...

Name changes, legends and more from the history of the NASCAR Cup Series

The Cup Series is the highest level of racing in NASCAR. All season, racers participate in a variety of racing events, aimed at qualifying for the playoffs, and finally, the championship.

In NASCAR’s early days, races took place on dirt surfaced racetracks. Now, speedways are located throughout the country and bring in thousands of excited fans to watch the thrilling races unfold.

Below is a brief history of the NASCAR Cup Series.

NASCAR Cup Series Drivers

The NASCAR Cup Series all leads to the championship where a winner is crowned.  (Patrik Giardino/USA Network via Getty Images)

Dale Earnhardt

Dale Earnhardt is one of three who hold the record for most championship titles in history.  (David Taylor/Allsport)

They lead the next in line by fairly wide margins. Jeff Gordon has won four titles. The late Lee Petty, the late David Pearson, Cale Yarborough, Darrell Waltrip and Tony Stewart each maintain three NASCAR titles.

4. What races are part of the NASCAR Cup Series? 

The NASCAR season kicks off in February, and races happen around the United States which takes the series into the end of the year, usually in November. 

Daytona International Speedway has been home to many series races, including the coveted Daytona 500. 

The first Daytona 500 was hosted on February 22, 1959, where more than 41,000 fans were in attendance. The winner of this race wasn’t decided until a full 61 hours after the race concluded because of the close ending resulting in a photo finish. Lee Petty was finally announced the winner after deliberation. The Coca-Cola 600 is another well-known race in the series. 

Ashlyn Messier is a writer for Fox News Digital. 


Most Popular